This is the official website of The Indian Science Congress Association, Kolkata, India.

VISIT : 108th Indian Science Congress


G.P. Chatterjee Memorial Award

With a donation from Professor Guru Prasad Chatterjee (Late) and Shrimati Suniti Chatterjee, the Association instituted this award in 1981, to be given every year to a distinguished scientist for his/her outstanding original contribution related to some aspects of Science and Man.

The award carries a cash amount of Rs. 10,000/- ,a Plaque and Certificate. The awardee is entitled to T.A. ( Air Fare- economy class- within the country) as per ISCA rules for attending the respective Session of the Science Congress in which he/she will receive the award.

The awardee may deliver a lecture during the Annual Session of The Indian Science Congress Association on the subject of his/her specialization.

Nominations for the award will be invited from Members of ISCA Council.

The Executive Committee in its meeting held on October 13,2012 resolved that a person shall not be eligible for more than one award /lecture in his lifetime. No one ( except ISCA young scientist awardees) shall be given the second ISCA award under any circumstances.

The Executive Committee in its meeting held on January 01,2019 resolved that while selecting ISCA awardees for ISCA awards their H index and Citation index (in SCOPUS and Google Scholar ) would be taken into account.

The Executive Committee in the Meeting held on October 15, 2019 resolved that for this ISCA Memorial award any life member of not less than Ten years of standing or continuous Annual Member of not less than Ten years of standing and also with Ten years of teaching and research experience in University/College or as a scientist in Government recognized Laboratory/institution can be nominated by a Council member. It is also recommended that the heads of the organizations which are providing funds to ISCA in any form cannot be nominated by a Council member for consideration of any award.

The final selection is made by a Selection Committee comprising the General President, Two general secretaries, Treasurer out of the candidates nominated.

In case the donor intends to have his/her representative in the Selection Committee, the Committee will also include such a representative provided the donor agrees to meet the cost of participation of his/her representative in the Selection Committee.

The last date for receiving nominations is July 31 each year.

A professional body under Department of Science & Technology, Ministry of Science & Technology, Government of India

Home   |   Photogallery   |   RTI   |   Deadlines   |   Quotation   |   Contact Us   |   Terms & Conditions   |   Privacy Policy   |   Copyright Policy   |   Sitemap

Copyright © 2012 Indian Science Congress Association. All rights reserved.
Developed by : Experis IT